top of page

I'm re-standing to become MSYP for Edinburgh Southern!

My campaign is underway and my SYP profile has been published, you can view it below.

Stay tuned for more!



Key Issues

  • The economy

  • The environment

  • Transportation



Why do you want to be an MSYP?

I would like to continue as an MSYP for Edinburgh Southern to help tackle the problems that I see young people facing in Edinburgh. In my time as an MSYP I have helped set up the Edinburgh Youth Action (EYA) group, which connects young people in Edinburgh with political decision makers, and I would love to continue my work on this if I’m elected for another term. I am also the Secondary School Representative on the steering group for Edinburgh 2050 City Vision, an organisation dedicated to making people’s visions of a future Edinburgh a reality. Getting elected again would help me to continue to gather young people’s opinions for this role and represent their views. I also want to further support activities and campaigns that specifically affect young people so that issues that are becoming increasingly important to our generation can be tackled.


How will you consult with the young people in your area or organisation to ensure that they are represented well and their voices are heard?

In my first term as an MSYP I gathered opinions from as many young people as possible in my constituency, and if I’m re-elected, I would like to continue to raise awareness about the Scottish Youth Parliament on social media, as many people are still unaware of its existence and how to make their voices heard. I will make sure that this promotion is across as many different platforms as possible so that nobody is out of the loop and use non-digital means of promotion where possible so that people who don’t use social media can give their opinions through posters and messages in school bulletins. If I’m elected for a second term, I will do all I can to consult young people in all the schools across my constituency and the local youth groups in the area.


Why should someone vote for you?

I am passionate about making a difference for young people and I am willing to work hard and put in the effort to make this possible. As I’ve already had two years of experience as an MSYP, I’m well versed on what the role requires and the best methods to reach out to young people. My time in the Transport, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee has given me a detailed knowledge of the problems facing young people in this area, and SYP’s work to solve these problems. I won’t need time to get to grips with how everything works in the organisation, meaning that I can get straight to work if I’m re-elected. I’m really driven when it comes to completing tasks, and I make sure to do everything to the highest standards. I’m also great at working in teams, an important element of this role, as I really enjoy collaborating with other MSYPs to find solutions to problems young people are facing. Another reason to vote for me is my skills using technology and digital communication: throughout my time as an MSYP I have designed logos and posters and effectively researched issues to debate at sittings.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SYP80 Members Motions Survey

The next Scottish Youth Parliament Sitting is coming up in Aberdeen, and it's your chance to decide my vote on the motions which will be...

New SYP Policy

A new rapid policy motion has just been passed as a recommendation policy on the Illegal Migrant Bill. You can now see it here on the SYP...

Types of SYP Policy

As you might have noticed by scrolling through the SYP Policy Log, each of the motions passed fall under a different level of policy....

Comments


bottom of page